Mission Statement

The purpose of the North Carolina Friends Historical Society is to support the collection and preservation of, and publish valuable information relative to, the history of the Society of Friends in North Carolina and adjacent territories and to work in harmony and cooperation with the Friends Historical Collection at Guilford College, the North Carolina Yearly Meeting Committee on the Care of Records and the North Carolina Yearly Meeting Publications Board.

About the Society

Founded in 1940, the North Carolina Friends Historical Society is open to everyone interested in Quaker history, particularly Quaker history in North Carolina. Our members are historians (professionals and amateurs), genealogists, individuals with Quaker ancestors, authors, and people who are just interested in Quaker history.

New members are always welcome. Membership benefits include a quarterly newsletter; the journal of the Friends Historical Association, Quaker History, published twice a year; and occasional special events, including an annual meeting, most often held on the first Saturday in November. Featured speakers at recent annual meetings have been Eleanor and Hal Pugh from New Salem Pottery; Abigail Rogers, a Guilford College graduate; Damon Hickey, former Director of Libraries at The College of Wooster; and Mary Browning, local author and historian.

Board meetings are open to the public. You are invited to “try us out” by attending a board meeting.

Officers and Board Members

Presiding Clerk: Barbara Bell
Assistant Clerk: Joan Poole
Recording Clerk: Gertrude Beal
Treasurer: Fred Sams


Terms expiring 2019: David Bills, Ed Winslow, Mary Allen, Martha Dentiste

Terms expiring 2020: Rausie Hobson, Barbara Bell, Joan Poole, Fred Sams

Terms expiring 2021: Gertrude Beal, Josh Brown, Max Carter, Becke Jones

Directors Ex Officio

Wess Daniels – Directors Friends Center and Campus Ministry, Guilford College
Gwen Gosney Erickson –¬†Librarian of Friends Historical Collection, Guilford College

Director Emerita

Florence White Allen

Committee Clerks

Special Events Committee: Joan Poole
Fellowship Awards Committee: Gwen Erickson
Newsletter: Gertrude Beal

2019 Meeting Dates

Feb. 13 at 3 p.m.
May 8 at 3 p.m.
Aug. 14 at 3 p.m.
Annual Meeting – Nov. 2 at 10 a.m.